How to watch the Bundesliga: live stream every match online today


The beautiful game is back this weekend as Germany's Bundesliga restarts its 2019/20 season and offers a glimmer of hope to football fans all over the world. Like nearly all global sport, the league ground to a halt back in March due to the Covid-19 pandemic, but now top-tier European soccer is back on the cards with some fantastic fixtures scheduled across Saturday, Sunday and Monday. Ready for kick-off? Here's how to watch every Bundesliga match today - either on TV or via a reliable online live stream.

You'll find a complete Bundesliga fixture list below, but as a quick primer, the pick of the litter looks to be Borussia Dortmund vs FC Schalke 04 at 2.30pm BST / 3.30pm CET / 9.30am ET this Saturday.

Dortmund have serious aspirations to lift the Salatschüssel this season and head into Saturday's match second in the table, just four points behind league leaders Bayern Munich. Schalke, for their part, currently sit at sixth and a strong finish to the season could propel them into European football next season.

English football fans will be particularly interested in the match, as rising Three Lions star Jadon Sancho forms part of a ferocious Dortmund attack that also features Norwegian wunderkind Erling Braut Haaland, German international Mario Götze, and Eden Hazard's younger brother, Thorgan.

American soccer fans have plenty of reason to want to tune in to the Bundesliga, too, with promosing youngsters like Josh Sargent (Werder Bremen) and Weston McKennie (Schalke) plying their trade in the Bundesliga this season alongside USMNT veterans John Brooks  (Wolfsburg) and Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach)

With that in mind, here's this weekend's complete German football schedule, followed by how to watch the Bundesliga on TV and live stream matches online from anywhere in the world.

Bundesliga fixtures: complete restart schedule

With no less than nine first-rate football matches set to go ahead in the Bundesliga over the coming days, we hope you can join us as we rejoice in this small slice of normality returning.

Saturday, May 16

  • Borussia Dortmund vs FC Schalke 04 - 2.30pm BST / 3.30pm CEST / 9.30am ET
  • FC Augsburg vs VfL Wolfsburg - 2.30pm BST / 3.30pm CEST / 9.30am ET
  • Fortuna Düsseldorf vs SC Paderborn 07 - 2.30pm BST / 3.30pm CEST / 9.30am ET
  • RB Leipzig vs SC Freiburg - 2.30pm BST / 3.30pm CEST / 9.30am ET
  • 1899 Hoffenheim vs Hertha Berlin - 2.30pm BST / 3.30pm CEST / 9.30am ET
  • Eintracht Frankfurt vs Borussia Mönchengladbach - 5.30 pm BST / 6.30pm CEST / 12.30pm ET

Sunday, May 17

  • FC Köln vs Mainz 05 - 2.30pm BST / 3.30pm CEST / 9.30am ET
  • FC Union Berlin vs Bayern Munich - 5pm BST / 6pm CEST / 12pm ET

Monday, May 18

  • Werder Bremen vs Bayer Leverkusen - 7.30pm BST / 8.30pm CEST / 2.30pm ET

How to get a FREE Bundesliga live stream today

Sky Sports has the broadcast rights to the Bundesliga in Germany and it's going big on the restart today, announcing that all mid-afternoon fixtures will be available to watch for free - both online and on TV - in both Deutschland and neighbouring Austria.

This means its never been easier to get a free Dortmund vs Schalke live stream - or watch any of the other 3.30pm CEST kick-offs.

Matches will be available to watch for free on German TV on the Sky Sports News HD channel, but even more conveniently online via the German Sky Sports website.

The eligible Saturday fixtures are:

  • Borussia Dortmund vs Schalke
  • RB Leipzig vs SC Freiburg
  • TSG Hoffenheim vs Hertha BSC
  • Fortuna Düsseldorf vs SC Paderborn
  • FC Augsburg vs VfL Wolfsburg

Anyone from these countries currently abroad may find they can't access the streaming services they normally would at home. This is because of geo-blocking, but there's a very easy solution in the form of a VPN...

How to watch the Bundesliga from outside your country

If you're abroad and can't bear to miss out on the big Bundesliga restart, don't worry. While you may initially encounter a problem watching your usual domestic coverage in the form of geo-blocking, there's an easy solution to this common annoyance. 

It's called a VPN and it's a clever bit of software that relocates your device back to your country of origin - thereby allowing you to regain access to the services you normally use (and almost certainly pay for) back home.

watch the bundesliga live uk

How to watch the Bundesliga live in the UK

watch Bundesliga UK

If you're out of the UK or Ireland but have subscribed to a streaming service you want to access from abroad, remember you can always use a VPN to enjoy all the content you've already paid for back home.

bundesliga live stream free

How to watch a FREE Bundesliga live stream in the US

how to watch the bundesliga

Watch the Bundesliga: live stream the soccer in Canada

watch bundesliga live stream

How to watch the Bundesliga in Australia on TV or online